Skip navigation

Ma’n b. ‘Îsâ reports

Mâlik b. Anas was once returning from the mosque, leaning on my arm, when a man called Abû Al-Juwayrîyah who was accused of Al-Irjâ` caught up with him. He said. “O Abû ‘Abdullâh, listen to something I have to say and debate with me and let me tell you my opinion.” [Imâm] Mâlik said, “And what if you overcome me?” The man replied, “If I defeat you, you follow me.” Mâlik asked, “And what if another man comes and defeats us?” He replied, “Then we follow him.” To this, Mâlik – Allâh’s mecy be upon him – said, “O servant of Allâh, Allâh sent Muhammad – Allâh’s peace and blessings be upon him – with a single religion, but I see you moving from religion to religion. ‘Umar b. ‘Abd Al-‘Azîz [Rahimahullah] said, ‘Whoever makes his religion the object of argumentation will frequently change it.’”

Al-Âjurrî, Ktâb Al-Sharî’ah Vol.1 p128

Leave a Reply

